Comet Bay College Defend Their Crown!

Friday, September 11, 2015

Round 23 of the AFL Season was the backdrop to the conclusion of the 2015 Eagles Schoolboys Cup. Two evenly matched schools going head to head at Domain Stadium prior the West Coast Eagles v St Kilda game to decide who would be Eagles Schoolboys Cup Champion.

For Comet Bay College, a chance to defend their crown they miraculously won in 2014. For Mazenod College, a reward for an outstanding 2015 program.

With the scene set for a terrific contest and an enthusiastic crowd in full voice both schools followed the “script” and put on a Grand Final to remember. Comet Bay burst out of the blocks with a four goal to one first quarter, increasing their lead to twenty three points by the half time break. Mazenod regrouped after half time and gradually clawed their way back to only trail by 8pints at the last break. A tight tense last quarter had the margin at one point with 90 seconds to play. A match winning goal in the final 30 seconds sealed the game for Comet Bay to record a memorable nine point victory. Final scores were Comet Bay College 8.5.53 def Mazenod College 6.8.44

Jake Howes (Comet Bay College) and Leo Lambert (Mazenod College) were presented with the special Eagles Schoolboys Cup footballs used in the match as recognition for being their school best players in the grand final. The Ross Davis Medal was awarded to Kalieb Larson from Comet Bay College for his outstanding contributions throughout the competition.

WAFC Hall of Fame member and Brownlow Medallist Ross Glendinning was on hand to present the Eagles Schoolboys Cup and medallions to the players, coaches and umpires.

One of the major directions of the WA Football Commission and School Sport WA when the competition was established was to re-establish Australian Rules Football into all Secondary Schools. Over the years football has provided the vehicle where values like loyalty, teamwork, respect, leadership, mateship, endeavor and integrity are taught. Both teams demonstrated these qualities in a highly skilled display and in true sportsman’s like manner.

“The West Australian Football Commission greatly appreciates the support received from The West Coast Eagles and School Sport WA for the contribution to the Eagles Schoolboys Cup. On behalf of the Commission I would also like to sincerely all schools that have competed in the Eagles Schoolboys Cup competition in 2015” said Schools Competitions Manager Clayton Anderson.

Eagles Schoolboys Cup Grand Final

Comet Bay College      4.3   6.3   7.3   8.5  -  53
Mazenod College         1.0   2.4   5.7   6.8  -  44 

Comet Bay College – Jake Howes, Kalieb Larson, Jarvis Pina
Mazenod College – Leo Lambert, Luke English, Tavis Pool

Ross Davis Medal – Kalieb Larson (Comet Bay College)


No comments

Comment on this story

* - required field